Noob lense advice needed

A collaborator and I are planning to shoot some shorts leading up to a feature. On a positive notes I am ferociously organised (80% of success is turning up) and between us we have a little experience and beyond this, our strengths and weaknesses appear to compliment each other. In addition, we are both pretty affable guys. I may have a project to work on until the end of August and then from then on, September 15th onwards to be precise, we will be looking to get a crew together to shoot. Effectively, my goal is to make shorts, make mistakes and then by 2013 - shoot a feature.

As a 'starter' camera I want to go with a Panasonic AG-AF100. Although the DSLRs are very fine pieces of kit, the visual issues around movement put me off and I recently worked on a project where the camera judder (OK, OK moire) was far too noticeable.

However, as I am relatively new to all of this, there are two questions I would have for my more experienced brethren.

Firstly, is there a cheaper option than the Pan? I need something where the judderiness is not an issue.

Secondly, I need a do-everything starter lense and all recommendations are more than welcome. Naturally, I want to build up lenses, buying a second in 2012 and a third in 2013 but initially I need something versatile and relatively (for glass) inexpensive. I know how much glass can cost but I need something that will 'do a job' rather than blow the socks off Spielberg.

So I would appreciate if you would please let me know your thoughts.