camera suggestion for portfolio

Hi I'm a recent film graduate from a cheap film school (University of Toledo). Now that I'm back home (Youngstown, OH), I don't have access to the equipment I had in school. I want to spend the next year working on my craft. I intend on moving to an area that produces more film/video work. By the time I move, I want to have material to show anyone interested in my work: whether for an individual job or even hiring company. I want to have a portfolio or an assortment of work.

I've sought help from former film advisors, high school teachers, fellow students and friends. So I thought I'd try indietalk too for some opinions. I've been sifting through the forums for a while now, so I thought if I'd detail my situation in a list, it would assist experienced forum members. Any help would greatly be appreciated!

-I'm more focused on featuring the content of my work, rather than the form. I want to highlight my style of acting, writing, but most importantly, the way I put together a piece of digital work, whether short skit, commercial, documentary, or short film. I realize the importance in the quality of the image, and I feel I have the necessary experience and knowledge to provide a decent quality, but it's difficult when your limited to equipment and funds.

-In school we used Canon xl2's. I really liked the wide range of manual functions for adjusting exposure and focus. I also liked the built in shotgun mic. But I can't afford to buy a xl2. So what I'm looking for is a cheaper version of the xl2.