First Camera Purchase and Start of Filmming

Hi guys! My name is Michael and Im a 23 year old student studying International Politics & Diplomacy. For the past few years I've been traveling and trying to find my personal medium of expression. I've been interested in film for quite sometime and decided to start to get my feet wet. I've done a bit of research and was wondering what everyone thought of my plan.

I don't know of anyone with a camera or who knows a lick about filming. I decided that the first thing to do was to get my hands on a camera. I've saved up a bit of money and through my research it seems that the Canon SLR t2i seems to be the best option for me. The shape of the camera (shaped more like a photography camera) at first worried me. From my experience a good tool only focuses on one primary function (i.e. swiss pocket knife vs actual pocket knife), however, after watching some test footage on youtube and after reading the information on this site I think that it would be a great starting camera. From reading (sorry I forgot your name)'s blog I've learned that the downfalls of the t2i are the poor quality audio, high compression, and the jello effect. If there is anymore information someone would like to throw my way please let me know!

Step 1- The Camera
So I figured that for my first step I would save up money to buy a nice camera (check). The next step is to find out what camera I want and buy it. I feel good right now about the t2i but if anyone has any pertinent information or advice please let me know.

Step 2- More Money and Messing with the Camera
So for step two I think once I have a camera it will be important to learn the ins and outs of it. During this time I want to be saving up money for more equipment and also learning the basics of filmmaking, like camera work, lighting, sound, and filming techniques.

Step 3- Equipment and Character Portfolio