Help! Trying to decide on a 16mm or Super 8mm camera!

Hey guys. I'm a still photographer that shoots film and film only. Recently, after seeing a few great movies with great cinematography, I became interested in the idea of shooting some motion film. I'm trying to decide whether I should get a Super 8mm or 16mm camera, and which camera in particular I should buy.

I'd like to be able to sync sound recorded separately with the footage. I heard that this might be possible with a Super 8 camera like a Nizo or something. Are there any particular Nizo models I should look for over others, and where should I look to buy one from? Ebay? Any suggestions for other Super 8 cameras are quite welcome.

I'd also like the camera to have manual controls, meaning manual shutter speed and aperture controls. I don't want it to choose the "right" exposure for me.

As far as 16mm goes... sound's a little less important because I figure at least I'm getting better quality. I could go with a cheap K-3 and modify it for Ultra 16, or I could save up and spend quite a bit on a CP-16 or Eclair and worry about converting it to Ultra/Super later.

Thanks, I need advice!

Welcome!

In order to sync both super 8 and 16mm to an external audio
recorder you will need a "sync" camera. What you will be looking
for is a camera that uses "crystal sync". Very few super 8 cameras
had this but some were modified. Many 16mm cameras have this
feature including the Eclair.

I had a crystal sync motor installed in my Beaulieu 4008 ZM II and I
have used the Crystal Control Unit made by The Film Group on my
Nikon R10 and Canon 1014XL-S.

My suggestions for 16mm would be the Eclair NPR, the Canon Scoopic
or the CP-16. I own an Eclair and the Beaulieu R16 with I love.

What about the Arri 16BL? I found one that says it was recently serviced for around the same price of a Cp-16 or Eclair. Thanks for your response.