Buying a Camera

I'm a filmmaker, but i'm fed up of being so limited borrowing other people's gear! Renting is a waste of time unless you have professionally scheduled shoots.
I'm an editor, scriptwriter, music composer, after effects artist, sound designer all rolled into one - but before I can go anywhere with this, I need a camera!
I want to get out there, filming with a couple of actors and a small crew getting the most professional look possible on an indie budget.

I have limited cash (but pointless letting that stop me filming) so I will probably end up buying whatever I choose on finance (loan), so whatever choice I make will have to pay for itself in the long run.

It needs to be HD, with different frame rates (50fps) and the best quality possible on a restricted budget.

DSLRs have been suggested (Canon 550D and 7D) for their excellent portability and great HD footage.
Are they realistic for making a short film? Is it just a gimmick?

Any other suggestions would be cool. What is an affordable option - used gear? Anything?
Thanks in advance.

Dan

DSLR's are great. We shoot all of our stuff in 7D's, on a budget though a t2i (550) or a t3i will work fine. The can go up to 60fps in 1280p, 24, 25 or 30 in 1080p.

With a DSLR, you'll need a few other things that you might be able to do ok without on another camera, like a separate audio recorder. You'll also probably need some type of shoulder mount if you want to do a lot of handheld stuff.

As with any camera, you'll also need a tripod.

Great cameras though. They give that shallow DOF look for not a lotta buck. Very versatile as well with all of the lens options available.

Excellent thanks. Thats what I was thinking really, and it's great to hear some reassurance that I'm not about to make a terrible decision.