• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

shotgun mic for canon gl2?

Just bought my first camcorder. I'm still learning my way around it, but ultimately want a decent shotgun mic for it. I'm willing to pay reasonable money, but I want something sturdy that I know will fit well on the camcorder, no vibrating. The manual suggests DM-50s, and MA-300s, but I really don't know enough about it. What should I look for?

What are you trying to accomplish? While camcorder makers depict microphones attached to the camera, that is, by far, the worst possible way to capture audio. No matter which microphone you choose, it should be placed within 12"-18" of the talent. With a microphone attached the the camera, that puts the camera REALLY close to the talent.

If you're just shooting the kids birthday party or the family picnic, you may get marginally better sound than the stock onboard camera mic.

If you are wanting to shoot movies and capture clean dialog, then there are a few options, all placing the microphone close to the talent.

In order of preference and quality of results:
1. Shotgun (for outdoors) or hyper (for indoors), placed on a boom pole and secured by a shock mount, held overhead with the mic pointed at a an aproximately 45degree angle, aimed at top of the talent's breastplate. The shotgun/hyper choice is a generalization and some overlapping occurs. For outdoor use, wind protection is needed, going from a simple softie to full blimp and windjammer. The person holding the boom monitors the microphone via headphones and adjusts placement for best dialog capture and rejection of extraneous sounds. Booming from below can be used but requires additional attention to reflections when performed indoors and unwanted ambient sounds when performed outdoors.

2. Plant microphones, hidden on the set, useful when talent is either stationary or action is predictable blocked.