Quality FX/Animation (Independent friendly!)

Hi, my name is Larry Adlon, and I've been a visual effects /animation artist for over 20 years. Several years ago, I broke from the fx houses I was working at, and formed my own company, Laer Digital Works.

I am here to bring digital visual effects and animation within the budgets of independent filmmakers, by providing effective solutions, and flexibility. So many times, I've seen (for example) fx shots done with 'tech-overkill'. If a CG truck is going to appear as a small speck in the background, why spend 3 weeks building (and charging for) a complex truck model? I look at what the end result needs to be, as well as your intended budget, and try and find a sensable solution.

Independent filmmakers are often either frustrated with the lackluster efforts of 'cheap' providers... or can't affort (or don't even get responses) from the bigger houses. I'm sort of the guy in between! I'm not dirt cheap (although I am flexible and considerate to the limited budgets), and I'm not WETA digital (and I will let you know if something is out of my scope, and won't sell you more than you need)... but I have surprised and pleased my past clients with 'what they want, and within their budget'. I have a sincere desire to make the shots look great, and never deliver something I feel is not worthy. I keep costs down by finding efficient methods of creating the visual you are after.

There are no surprises either (other than, hopefully, your expectations being met or exceeded!). I give frequent progress resports and sammple images, and keep a one-to-one contact with you throughout. There is no 'waiting and wondering', and emails are responded to on the same day (usually!).

Past projects have included: