New Camera options

Hey everyone, I know there are a ton of topics along these same lines in this forum, but I've read through a bunch of them and haven't really come across any that really answer my question specifically.

I'm a student filmmaker who's basically looking for a camera that I can afford and start making things with immediately. For a while I was saving up money to eventually buy the Red Scarlet when it comes out, but since that seems to be less and less of a good option as the price goes up and the release date gets pushed back, I've decided that having something I can work on now and get good quality material from would be more beneficial at the moment.

My budget is about $2000, but I could push that up a bit and I could definitely spend less than that! I've already done a decent amount of research into the various options available to me, but I thought I'd post here and get the opinions of some people who might know a little more about cameras than I do!

One of the best options which I've seen mentioned around this message board a lot is looking into buying a DSLR. I've worked with DSLRs in the past and gotten fantastic results, so that is definitely an option I would be open to. I recently shot a film for a local festival using a Lumix GH1 and the result left me very happy, but I've also done a lot of work with a friend's Canon 5D-II (Out of my price range) and of course it has worked beautifully.