Getting the best out of my Canon HV20?

Hey. I've been reading plenty on the Canon 5D Mark II and how stunning the images look. I'm quite dissapointed that it has poor sound and no mic input -- how does that work now? Yeah, can't afford it -- though, I want one, but I have to make do with what I have... which isn't bad.

I own a Canon HV20 and I rather love it -- if it's possible to love a camcorder. However, looking at the films I've made, I just know the HV20 can do better.

For example, this is my web series and it doesn't look... that good:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppAh38_RKPU

How can I make my HV20 footage look like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qR1HZCgJirE

Well, here's my theory...

1) A 35mm adapter (the only kind I can afford is a Jag35ST) and some type of lens? (I have no knowledge of camera tech specs)

2) Softbox lighting. No? Yes?

3) Proper importing and exporting into FCP. How does one do that to maximize camera potential? (On my web series, I used iMovie HD... maybe that's the problem?)

4) That 24p pull down remover thing? I didn't do that. Maybe that's why?

That's all I can come up with. What have you got?

Lastly, does anyone know of any cool/cheap matte box/double handle shoulder support rig for the HV20? I'm not great at building stuff, so I was looking to get something pre-made. I want my shoots look more professional. That could help.

Help me out, mates. I'd appreciate it. :)

Last edited:
as far as i can advise you for a better looking dof picture is indeed to get a 35mm adapter..

I use a letus35mini on mine.. 'look at my welcome message for my complete set up..' cost me some euro's.. but must say it's all worth it.. but than again, now I have the wanted set up there is no excuse for weak footage haha

love the hv20.. it's a good camcorder.

goodluck.

grt, mike d.

1 - Yes.

2 - Probably yes. Soften your light through any variety of means.

3 - Yes, but I don't have the info you seek.