Canon 550D or 7D

Hello there,

I am very, very new to the whole film making area, and given that, thought I should get out there are shoot some stuff - you only learn by your mistakes right? In terms of future investments, I just wanted some opinions on the 550D v.s 7D - what you think of both of them and whether it's the right investment to make with either of them. Although they're relatively cheap, I'm only a poor student, so a camera like that would be a massive buy for me!

Thanks for any help!

Jennie

I am very, very new to the whole film making area, and given that, thought I should get out there are shoot some stuff - you only learn by your mistakes right? In terms of future investments, I just wanted some opinions on the 550D v.s 7D - what you think of both of them and whether it's the right investment to make with either of them. Although they're relatively cheap, I'm only a poor student, so a camera like that would be a massive buy for me!

There's really very little difference between the 550D and 7D for shooting video. For stills photography, there are marked improvements in the shooting rate (as the 7D has two processors, rather than one), and I much prefer the ergonomics and control of the larger SLRs for stills. For video, I think the biggest difference is that the 550D can't output HD to a monitor while recording, but if this is a budget buy then that's nothing to worry about.

If you can just about afford the 7D, buy the 550D and spend the rest on a nice lens or two and/or a decent tripod. With SLRs the biggest investment is the glass: it'll outlast any camera you buy by far and lose very little of its original value. Lenses are also one of the biggest factors in image quality, and you'll be able to get much better images with good lenses and a cheaper camera than cheap lenses and a more expensive camera.

So - for people primarily shooting video, the 550D is generally much more of a bargain.