Choosing the right camera

Hello,
you are probably facepalming, because you see this kind of threads pop up every day. I have done quite a lot of research on these forums, but in the end, it didn't make me any less torn between what (type) of camera to buy.

What I want to shoot:
I'm a teen and I'm not a professional (as much as I try to be). I have captured short films before on two different school cameras (but wasn't really allowed to play more with their settings, so never experienced HD etc. fully). I direct narrative short films, but I am occasionally also interested in shooting documentaries.

That said: I have a pretty low budget. I am not ready to pay more than 1000€ for a digital camera, and I can't buy expensive lenses and lots of external recording devices. Rigs and tripods I can probably afford.

What I am looking for is an usable camera, that can produce quality HD image, can record decent audio, has manual focus, exposure and doesn't require billions worth additional props to make it usable. So far, I was looking a lot at the 550D/Rebel T2i camera, but I'm worried about the criticised sound quality it produces by default. I'm not sure if I've really got the money to go all the way to sound syncing and what not. Most people also seem to have used different lenses for their camera and I'm wondering if the default aren't very good because of that?

I don't have particular experience with either HDV or DSLR cameras, but I'm open to any suggestions as long as it doesn't get too expensive (~1000€).

Thanks in advance.

The sound quality is a non-issue you will need a sound recorder and mic even if you got a $3-5k pro-sumer camera. Zoom H4n, and be done with it go for a rode NTG2. The camera's audio is completely useless other than to provide a sync track for Plural Eyes.