DIY Craft services on location

Ok all,
I need some practical advise on feeding 20 or so people, cheaply, with food that can be delivered on location with minimum of prep. Im a good cook, so DIY is a must.

Thanks

If you really are a good cook you could make lasagna and bring some bread & salad; cheap, tasty, filling. Hopefully you have some AC power so you can bring your microwave to reheat it.

You really want to produce and cook? How very Orson Welles of you. I would settle for $5.00 pizzas and ready-made deli salads myself.

If you cook, I'd cook beforehand. Gallons and gallons of pasta sauce. We used to do this in college all the time...you can have four huge pots of sauce going on the stove at the same time, then when that cools enough to refrigerate, four huge pots of noodles.

How about pots of ham stew with loads of beans, rice, onion, tomato. It would be a great source of energizing carbs and protein. Picnic hams are relatively cheap. Add in some salad fixings, as already suggested, and some nice crusty bread. Yummm!

Hey all, thanks great ideas so far..

Yeah, so Im worried about serving hot food hot. (im a jerk when it comes to food safety, my wife hates it.. )

Lasagna and\or pasta is a good choice, lots of acid in tomatoes, and can withstand a fair bit of temperature variation.

Other ideas?

I've done cold cuts and cheeses. Make sure you have plenty of water and other soft drinks and maybe tea and coffee. Would start with that with pastry and bagels and then salads with luncheon meats and cheeses. Remember to have plenty of coolers with ice.

If it were me I would pick up a bunch of donuts and make a bunch of sandwiches. PB&J would hold up fine. I would do meat and cheese sandwiches, too. As long as your coolers stay cold you're totally fine.
If it's really hot out, using block ice instead of cubes will stay a lot colder for longer. When I camped in the desert, my block ice lasted two days in 100+ degree heat.