The next rung up from H4N? Plus a couple audio questions.

Hi everyone, it's my first time posting, but I've been lurking around the forum for awhile. I bought an H4N back in February and it did ok for one of my class projects although the headphone jack bent from an unfortunate fall while on a tripod. I did notice from what some of the others have said about the h4n that the preamps are "hissy". Despite my best efforts in Soundbooth I still was unable to remove some of the hissing.

I'm looking for something that has 4 xlr inputs and records to sdhc and something I can take in the field and carry in a shoulder bag. Something like the Edirol r-44 for example. Anybody have any good things to say about any mid-range multitrack recorders? Your recommendation would be appreciated.

A couple of questions on monitoring audio and headphone jacks/terminals:
In theory, if you have a device like the Edirol-44 that has an RCA output in addition to the headphone jack you could use that as a line for monitoring the audio with an RCA to 1/4" or 1/8" adapter? Also, are the 1/4" terminals for headphones any sturdier than the 1/4" ones are. It seems like I've bent a couple mp3 1/4" headphone terminals in the past. And I'd like to, if possible, eliminate headphone monitoring cords coming from the audio recorder. Is there a wireless headphone transmitter that will run off batteries that I can stuff in the bag along with the recorder?