Sub £1000 camera

I'm planning on getting a canon 550d (T2i) soon, but I want to make sure I havn't missed something.

I'm a TV Production student in the UK and I'm used to using Panasonic DVX100. Being a student, I have no money, so for my own camera I was looking at DSLRs as they have full manual control and amazing image quality for about 1/4 of the price of prosumer cameras.

I just wondered if anyone knew of a sub £1000 camera that might be better for me as it's designed for video, not photography like the 550d.

Full manual control is a must. HD is preferred by not necessary. Flash memory card support is preferred by not necessary.

Thanks.

I'm a student in the UK and I've got the 550d. It's absolutely epic, definitely nothing to touch it in the price range. Don't be put off by the fact that it's a stills camera, the video mode has every manual feature that you're going to need at this level.

I've just shot my first music video with it, and the quality of the footage is superb, and the variable frame rates allow you to film with slo-mo in mind.

- Just as an aside, if you do buy it, I'd strongly recommend a spare battery - just because it means you can charge one and shoot with the other, and if you have an extra £100 a 50mm f1.8 for shooting in lowlight situations.

Yeah, I'm really exited about the possibility of owning this camera, I just wish it had a tilting screen, like the GH1, at least to make filming easier. I guess I'll just have to get used to it on my (lack of) budget.

I was thinking of buying it with the 50mm lens you mentioned instead of the kit lens. Either that or the 28mm canon (f/ 2.8).

Does the 1.6 x zoom issue when using the 50mm with the 550d (making it technically 80mm ish) make it difficult to get well framed when filming in tight indoor locations? I worry that this might be an problem. I don't have the tools to test it out right now.