Help me chose a Camera - Strange T2I questions

Hello guys,

First and foremost, I am very grateful that I stumbled upon this website while trying to aborve as much information as I could about independent film making, more specifically the technical side of things.
I have a background in Web Development, which includes creation of Flash animations as well as some limited film editing. While I really enjoy my work, my passion has always resides somewhere else, in Film making. Story telling has always been something that I have been interested in, and this passion has been turning into quite an obsession as I get older.
So I decided to go for it, and create my first short film. I already have the story line in place, just need to turn it into a script and film it. The casting has already been done, and the film will consist in solely 2 actors that have already agreed to work with me pro bono.

I have zero experience with cameras, but since I have worked in production for so long, shound't be hard to pick up. (hopefully) Now, I have been reading a lot f topics on these forums, and it seems as if the Canon T2i is a very good choice for a low budget short film. I looked at various footage of the camera and it looks very good, but one thing that concerns me, and that might sound rather silly... is that the video camera looks like a digital still camera. I have never pictured a film being filmed with a device that looked so .. unimpressive. Now don't get me wrong, I know how bad this sounds, but isn't a camera supposed to be robust?

Also, is the quality difference between the T2i and cameras like the Canon XH A1S and the Panasonic AG-HVX200 very significant?

I am looking for that cinematic look of a 35mm lens, how much would this lens cost me for the T2i? And does the lens come with the camera or do I need to buy it as an accessory?