Good deal for a Panasonic DVX100a?

Hey All-

Total novice here with documentary dreams. I just saw what I think is a good deal for a Panasonic DVX100A ($500). Seller says camera has around 300 hrs and the camera has never caused a moment of trouble.

According to ebay prices (which I know can be high) this appears to be a good deal. Opinions anybody?

Also, any warnings of things to look out for on a used camera?

Thanks!!!

Usually you want to base your prices by going to google, clicking the shopping tab and then typing in what your buying. There should be various prices from all over the web. Hope that helps.

The seller is actually local, just a minute or two away from my house.

Anything beyond a thorough visual inspection that you would recommend for me when I take a look at the camera?

Thanks again!

Make sure all the plugs work, nothing bent, turn it on maybe see if you can record and play something back. Make sure the lens is not scratched and make sure it charges. All I can think of off the top of my brain.

No problem! ;)

Other than wat LIFE said, if the seller is so near you, maybe work out a deal with him. perhaps tell him something like you'll pay half now and after 2 weeks of using it and seeing everything is ok, you'll pay the other half.

I'm no expert on cameras, but that seems to be in the "too good to be true" price range.

What accesories does it come with, if any? A charger at least, I hope.

Bring along a blank mini-DV tape of your own so you can test it right there. (Don't assume seller will have one hangin' about - especially if foisting off a bum camera)

Someone posted a check-list for used cameras here a few years back. Maybe see if you can find that? I remember it being quite comprehensive, though I don't recall who wrote it.

I hope it's legit! Nice find, if it is. :)