Best cameras at or under $200

I'm seriously considering getting into documentary filmmaking, but I'm just starting out, and money is very tight, so I'm considering any camera that's at or below $200, just as something to start out with before I can upgrade to a better one. I looked on amazon.com for various camcorders in my price range but I get discouraged by some of the poor reviews that some people give them, even on the name brands. Does anyone here have any suggestions on any good camcorders in this price range, particularly any that can hook up to a computer for editing?

In your price range you aren't going to be getting anything
more than a point-and-shoot-have-fun-with-your-friends
camera. A "Flip" has a surprisingly good image and is in your
price range. You won't be able to get a camera that has a mic
input (which is very important) or one that will allow you any
control over shutter, iris or focus. They are "everything automatic"
cameras.

The good news is, you can use a Flip camera for starting out and
you can transfer the footage to a computer for editing. With some
effort and creativity you could make a decent documentary.

I've thought about Flip cameras but decided against them, because they have a tendency to break down easily. At this point, I'm not really sure.

Realistically, at that kind of price point, I don't think you'll be able to be too picky about it. The Flip cameras do seem to be highly recommended, and the footage I've seen is pretty good for the price.

chilipie is right, pacey. In your price range you aren't
going to get a camera that is sturdy and has no tendency
to break down. Manufacturers use a lot of cheap plastic to
keep a camera at $200 and under.

First, when you are starting out, almost any camera is sufficient. However, I don't know anything about Flip cameras. I don't know if they break down so listen to people who know.

Second, to find a camera for $200, you might seriously consider going to the pawn shop. Not kidding.