Sound?

Hey,

I'm in the middle of putting together a cheap rig that will let me shoot film with as minimal limitations as possible. I've recently purchased a pre-owned Sony HDR-CX100 for about $270USD, but the CX100 does not have a microphone input on offer, so already my filming would be hindered with only first-person sound available.. So, I'm looking to purchase a cheap sound setup. A recording device and a low-cost microphone or two? I am totally new to this. I don't have the bank of knowledge that this forum collectively possesses.

Help me out. What are my options?

Cheers

Zoom H4n (Digital Audio Recorder)

Rode NTG-2 (Shotgun Mic) (Outdoors)

Audio Technica AT4053b or Oktava MK-012 (Cardioid Condensor Mic) (Indoors)

Boom Pole, Shock Mount, Cables, Slate

Someone to do the sound

Read my blog here on IndieTalk.

Hey Alcove Audio , I am curious , isnt a Juicdlink solution better than Zoom...it sez so here
http://vimeo.com/5370880
scroll down for other videos in the series. I am a video/visual guy , sound is a mystery to me.

I am still reading your blogs now...awesome info. there , thanks a lot...

Hey Alcove Audio , I am curious , isn't a juicedLink solution better than Zoom?

The juicedLink and BeachTech mixers are meant for connecting mics to cameras with 1/8" audio inputs. However, you are still using the internal audio processing of the camera. The newer DSLR cameras - and many of the other recent cameras - have seriously substandard audio implementation, and sometimes no audio inputs at all. The audio implementation on some cameras is so poor, in fact, that using a juicedLink/BeachTech mixer will not produce the kind of results most filmmakers are looking for.