Wide lens for Rebel t2i

I've jumped ship. I just sold my Sony VX2100, so that I can afford to buy the Rebel t2i. This was a rather scary move for me, but logic is telling me it was a common-sense decision.

Anyway, I'm completely new to DSLR. First issue I'd like to figure out -- lenses. I totally don't understand them. The camera I'm purchasing comes bundled with an 18-55mm lens. The shoot I have planned, I know for sure that I'm going to need a good wide-angle. As I understand it, 28mm is wide. 20mm is ultra-wide.

But the regular old lens that comes bundled is 18-55? Wouldn't that give it a range wider than ultra-wide? Of course, I'm missing something; there's something I don't get. Could someone please explain to me what I it is I've missed in this equation?

Also, at the time being, I only plan to purchase a good wide lens, and some decent filters. But maybe there's something I haven't thought of. Is there any essential element that a miniDV convert like myself wouldn't have thought of? For the shoot I have planned, I have no need whatsoever for any macro.

The t2i has a jack for an external mic. I'm going to test how it sounds with a boot that converts XLR to mini-jack. I think that should work fine, but if not, I'm open to the idea of buying a digital audio recorder.

Even on my tight budget, I'm pretty sure I'm going to need a wide lens. Heck, of course I'd prefer a nice brand-name lens, but there are generics for not much at all.

yes, u need a wide lens. u need a wide lens bc u have a certain shot you want to get. but u dont know which mm will correspond to what you have in ur mind. (this is what i understood from ur original post, correct me if im wrong.)

so as such, im saying check out the lens u get with ur kit first, if it is wide enough for you then theres no prob. if not, then start looking for a wider one.