Suggestions for a New Camera Set-Up and Post-Production Equipment

I have been shooting short films (nothing too fancy) for a few years now with nothing but an old 3CCD camcorder and Sony Vegas.

I am looking to up my game and start shooting more "professional-looking" shorts with higher levels of production.

What camera would you recommend I look into? I've been hearing a lot about these HDSLRs, especially the 5D, 7D or 550D. I've also been told to look into HD camcorders paired with 35mm lens adapters such as a HV20 & Brevis. Opinions or suggestions?

Also, what would you suggest as some high quality post-production tools & programs?

Keep in mind, I only have a very low budget, so please recommend equipment that you believe would be the best value/quality for its particular price range.

Thanks in advance, guys! :)

Welcome to indietalk!

I’m not a fan of the lens adaptors and I don’t feel those DSLR
cameras are made to shoot movies. So my advice isn’t going
to be what you want. The lens is very important and both of
those options allow you to use a much better lens. But a much
better lens is going to be expensive.

You can use that old 3CCD camera to shoot more professional
looking shorts. Lighting and sound can always be improved and you
will be amazed at how professional your shorts will look (and
sound) when you put more effort into those two aspects of making a
movie.

However, you can search the forums here for several discussions on
lens adapters and the use of DSLR cameras. There are many fans
of using both who post here.

The higher quality post production tools and programs are Final
Cut, Adobe Premiere/After Effects and Avid for editing. Pro Tools,
Logic Pro, Digital Performer and Sonar.

Thanks for taking the time to reply!

I'm not discounting the importance of lighting and sound in film; but I guess what I want to do is give my videos that "film" look, and as far as I know, I just can't achieve this on my old camcorder.