50mm f1.8

Hey,
I use my DSLR (Nikon D5000) to film a thriller, which means it's going to be dark, shot at night-time, not many light sources...
I was thinking of getting a Nikkor 50mm f1.8.
Do you think it's a good choice? I'm a beginner filmmaker, and I don't know the usual focal lenght used (can someone clear that up for me please?). do you think it should affect the shooting much?

Thanks!
Liri

From my limited research (hopefully and expert will chime in)
50mm is a good all around lens, its "wider" than a typical camcorder lens, which is why most of us video freaks want a 50mm adapter.

50mm is also the "Natural focal length" for 35mm film, which means we've come to sorta expect that in our movies.. subconsciously.

Math aside focal length is how much picture you get in the viewfinder.
see these example photos taken from the same exact spot:

28mm

Angleofview_28mm_f4.jpg

50mm

Angleofview_50mm_f4.jpg

70mm

Angleofview_70mm_f4.jpg

If it seems like this is just zooming in, then your partially correct. Zoom lenses have VARIABLE focal lengths, fixed lenses like the 50mm you mentioned have a fixed focal length.

Also if we go lower with the focal length we get a FISH EYE lens..

15mm
Fisheye_lens_room.jpg

Oh, and the f1.8 is a fast lens. Going faster starts costing a LOT of money. Your 1.8 nikor is about $120 new. To get the next fastest a f1.4 your going to spend twice that ($240+). Going on up in price as that number gets smaller, the f1.2 is $700!

Though, for your low light feature, that might be money you have to spend.

As for affecting shooting much. The focal lengh is really about "look" and how much room you have to work with, so its more of a artistic choice. The speed or "f stop" of the lens your using will have MUCH more impact on the actual filming.

Does that help?

see this wiki for more http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Focal_length

Last edited: