• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch my doc: alive and well and kicking

this is a documentary about Phyllis Galde, the publisher and owner of FATE Magazine, a paranormal themed magazine that has been around since the 1940s. She runs the magazine out of her basement in Lakeville, Minnesota. It follows Phyllis and her two housemates trying to keep the magazine afloat while they tell the story of what brought them together working on FATE. Here is the first part, the documentary as a whole is 70 minutes long.

Part 1 of 7

I made this documentary as a student at Ithaca College. It started as a 10min group project when I was a sophomore and I continued to work on it with one other member of that group as my senior thesis. Between 2006 and 2008 we visited Phyllis 5 times for a week to several weeks at a time, over our winter and spring breaks to capture this footage. We shot it on a Panasonic AG-dvx100b with an external mics/mixpre setup.

The rest is available at http://vimeo.com/album/213469

Last edited:
I watched and really enjoyed the 70 min version you have posted.
It's hard to come away from it without being a fan of Phyllis'.

I think you guys did a great job.

-Thanks-

I don't know if this is forum faux pas but the film has been divided into short parts to make it easier for people to view (not having to all in one sitting) and I wanted some opinions so I edited the original post.

Sorry I missed your reply post. (You are welcome)

I coincidentally was just mentioning Alive and Well and Kicking earlier today to a friend in Tokyo that was familiar with FATE.

I’m sure some of the seasoned members here can offer their advice on how to keep going.