Cheap PreAmp Test

Hi,
I bought a Nady DMP-2 in hopes of using it as a cheap alternative to a juicedlink.

I have no experience with audio for video so my review\ comments should be taken as, well just plain ignorant:blush:

In this video http://www.vimeo.com/10276764 I'm using a couple different mics, connected to the DMP-2, the DMP-2 is connected to the mic input of the Canon HFS100 camera using an XLR to 3.5mm adapter (stereo) there is nothing else, the adapter is just wire, no circuity etc.

Setting the levels with this setup is a bit difficult. The Canon HFS100 seems to expect a much lower input signal, however, there is a built in attenuator option. Im not sure if its JUST an attenuator or if its also providing some automated gain\leveling.. I kinda think it is.. Ill have to check with Canon directly.

To get ANY useful signal I had to engage this feature of the camera. When setting the levels, the camera has audio input metering, though this seems to be misleading, or maybe its PRE Attenuator.. I don't know... What I noticed that when setting the input levels I had it plenty low, barely hitting the 50% of the range.. but when I imported on to the PC it was much hotter, getting close to 0DB. ..

Any quesitons?

The worst thing about the unit is its SHAPE.
Its nice and heavy, feels pretty road worthy, but the shape! Argh, I wanted to just drill and tap a hole to attach it to the bottom of the cam.. like the juciedlink, but with that shape... no way.

I have been looking at some extruded aluminum Chanel that might provide a cheap alternative housing for the guts.. but what a pain..

For now its bungeid (new verb for ya!) to the tripod!

Another thing with the cam and preamp setup, I found it impossible to get a decent headphone level for monitoring out of the camera. With the built in mic, the headphone level can be nice and loud.. but with this setup, I cant seem to get any volume to speak of..