Beginner Sound Guy

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here, but I'm glad I found this forum because it seems like a terrific resource.

On to my question. I have been doing quite a bit of research on audio gear. I want to start getting small non-union gigs to supplement my income, gain experience in the field, and hopefully do some good networking.

My budget as of right now is $2000, with a good chance of it being bumped up another 2k in the near future.

For a shotgun mic, I'm pretty set on the Rode NTG-3 for its price:quality ratio. I've read it rivals the MKH416, but that it might not get you as many jobs because it doesn't have the clout the MKH416 does.

What I'm having trouble deciding on is a field recorder. I've pretty much boiled it down between the Edirol R-44 which has the 24-bit/192kHz and 4 XLR inputs. Having 4 XLR's I think might be pretty key.

The other one I'm considering is the Sound Devices 702. I think this would definitely look sexy when people consider hiring me. Only problem is it would eat up my entire budget until I get more money. Could give me some good time to familiarize myself using mics I already have though... right?

Then of course there are the boom poles, cables, etc, etc. The mixer and lavs would have to come later after I've got some small jobs under my belt already.

Also from reading around the boards it seems I'm going to need a hypercardiod mic for indoors. Correct me if I'm wrong on that pick up pattern.

So how does that sound? Would you hire me for say $100-$150/day if that was my gear? Will it last long enough to make back my money? I would also be using it to make my own short films.

Thanks for reading! Hope it isn't too long.

Good choice on the NTG-3. Have one. Like it. A lot.