Camera choice for web only distribution

I've been reading forums and researching for the last 5 months or so, and I've come to the point where I need to ask some questions. This seems like the right place, so here it goes.

First, a long time friend and myself started a website about a year ago. It's an outdoors site and is based on product reviews and the outdoor lifestyle. The site has been gaining traction and we're starting to attract sponsors and generating a little bit of advertising revenue. Part of our plan for the site was to start producing our own videos, but not just hokey product promotion/review videos. We want to make the videos have more feeling, be less scripted and more appealing to watch. More like documentary shorts and art pieces than commercials.

I'm an illustrator by trade, and spend my 8hrs/day doing 3d animations and working in AE and PP, so I've got the editing down for the most part. I also do promotional videos for my office and have been working with a canon HF200 and editing in HD 1080 @ 60i, 24p etc. and getting a feel for HD video editing workflow.

For my side work/website, we're at the point where we want to buy a camera and shortly after, a second. Here's where I need some advice. The videos aren't going to be heavy on the sound dept. and aside from a few discussions in the outdoors, there really isn't going to be much dialog in most of the shorts we plan to produce, so keep that in mind. What I'm just not sure about is the capabilities of the camera(s) I need to buy for my web shorts. I have a few things in mind that I want to achieve:
1. The ability to get shallow DOF (though I'm not a huge fan of this recently because it's getting overdone)
2. The ability to shoot at higher frame rates to get slow motion shots in the final.
3. Decent manual features for controlling the look/feel of the shots.