70hz-18khz mic and upto 96khz recorder

im doing interviews in the street and want to get just basic reasonable sound.

but im a complete novice at sound recording. ive found an audio technica mic that says it records 7-hz-18khz and a recorder that says it records up to 96 khz. will these two work together? and what kind of cables should i buy to get the most quality the mic and recorder can give me? anything else i need to buy?

please dont be afraid to dumb down your answers for a beginner in sound like me.

thanks for your help!

A recorder doesn't record "up to 96k" but it "samples" the audio 96,000 times a second. What that basically means is that it can record up to 48 kHz. Human beings can hear from ~20Hz - 20kHz. So most people record at 48k (set on the recorder), which translates into recording everything below 24kHz, still higher than anyone can hear.

Can you list the mic and recorder specifically? (Generally you just need an XLR cable to connect them)

Hi Gohanto,

ive read many of your posts on imdb.

Yes, let me list what im planning to buy. I know i should be spending atleast 250 on a mic and atleast 400 on a recorder. But i simply cant. And instead of waiting to get the money or the investment ive decided to go ahead and make what i can with what little i can spend.

The doc im making intercuts between street interviews and interviews held in a room.

I can borrow a pro grade camera at my old uni. But theyre only letting me use it in a room in the university itself. So ill use that for filming the seated interviews.

But for the street im using a camcorder which doesnt even have input jacks so im planning on buying the following mic and recorder to interview random ppl on the street.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...8_00_MicroTrack_II_Professional.html#features

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...denser_Shotgun_Microphone.html#specifications