Canon HG10 Vs. HV20

Having had a look around online this decision is quickly turning into a nightmare. I want to record footage that looks like film (both have 24p cinema mode) but everyone seems to have differeing opnions - apparantly the HV20 24p looks better than the HG10 but the use of Hard drive to store rather than tapes I prefer, even though there is no back up.

Plus the HG10 is surprisingly about £250 cheaper... Has anyone used the HG10 that can comment? Also the fact that the HG10 uses AVCHD rather than DV appears to be a problem because it makes the 24p option of the HG10 'Unusable' due to lack of programmes to decode it or something?

If any light can be she don this situation that would be amazing,

Thanks guys :)

I admit that I'm not an expert in cameras by any stretch of the imagination, but I can tell you that we used the HV20 as a second unit camera for our last feature film with mixed results. It wasn't bad, but the lack of not being "real" 24fps hurt us.

We just got the HV40 because it does "true" 24fps. Haven't even had a chance to play with it yet, but I'm optimistic.

But again, this is just me repeating what I know from discussions with my resident "camera guy".

I wouldn't get the hard drive based camera. They're very susceptible to shock, as in.. oops dropped it, damn lost all my footage.

If you prefer something other than tape, look at the canon HF series, basically all the same specs, but uses SD cards instead of tape or Hard Drive.

As for pulling the 24p out of the interlaced stream, get yourself a copy of NeoScene from cineform for about $130 USD, it'll do the pulldown removal and leave you with progressive footage for any of these canon cameras, including the HV's, HG's, HF's and HFS's that all use AVCHD