Newbie needs camera for first time film making - help!?

Hey guys, I'm new here and currently studying film. I'm hoping to make a short soon but want a camera that has that film look to it. I know not many camcorders have 24p cinema mode intergrated but I was wondering if anyone could point in the right direction...

I want an HD camera that records directly onto Hard drive and that has 24p mode so that it looks more like film. Is there anything else I should be after? I've been looking at the Canon HG10 simply because it is in my price range (Under £500) and seems to be the only one in this price range that has 24p mode but after looking at the difference between 60i and 24p it was not that noticeable...

Any info on anything would be very much appreciated, as I say I'm new to film making and just want the best camera I can get for my money,

Thanks guys :)

Canon HF200
Canon HV20

Both amazing cameras which would be perfect for what you're looking for.

Hi thanks for that! Having had a look at the HF200 that can shoot in 25p, I was looking more for 24p. The HV20 seems ideal apart from a recurring white balancing issue people seem to have.

Does Sony produce any cameras under £500 with 24p cinema mode? Or is it only Canon at the moment? What is better out of the Canon HV20 and the Canon HG10 if anyone has any ideas?

Thanks again for the reply :)

*Also are there cameras that are 24p but not necessarly high def? - if that is cheaper or leaves me with more options that would be great - I've heard it can take hours to transfer 1080p footage onto a computer and even longer to edit? If anyone can shed some light on the pros/cons of AVCHD that would be usfeul as well...*

Last edited:
No problem

You can change the settings on the HF200 to shoot in 24p if you want, but trust me you want to shoot in 25p seeing as you live in PAL land.