Sound Questions

Hey yall, I've read the first page of threads here, Alcove's blogs, and looked into some of the products recommended, and would like to ask a few me-specific questions. I dont mean to burden anybody and dont want to give the impression that I'm not willing to do any of my own legwork, but I am completely new to this kind of stuff and easily impressed with product reviews, so I was hoping that some of yall with the experience could give me a bit of advice.

My current budget is 1000 dollars.

According to Alcove, the boom mic + the cardioid mic = 500, so I'm assuming I've got 500$ left after their purchases.

I need to record externally. Somebody recommended Tascam and I looked up the Tascam HD-P2, the Tascam DR Series Flash Recorders, and the Zoom H4n.

I liked reading about all of them, but I still don't really have much grasp on which direction I should go. I read that sound devices have a nice longevity, so I dont want to be cheap at the cost of quality.

My eventual goal is to shoot a feature that I've written, starring myself and the friends it is based on. While I'm okay with some things being ameturish or guerilla, I don't want to screw up on sound and have a bunch of footage that I can't use without spending a boatload on post, so I've considered using a professional sound crew. Was curious how much your usual crew would cost per day.

And finally, I was curious what the basic minimum coverage insurance would cost.

I may be all over the place here and I may deserve a flogging, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

I need to record externally. Somebody recommended Tascam and I looked up the Tascam HD-P2, the Tascam DR Series Flash Recorders, and the Zoom H4n.