Dark themed short Video ??????

I plan to make a film for film festivals soon. But before I dwell into something complicated like that, I want to make a short video/promo (2-4min). The concept would be about the life of a gangster from his perspective.

Can you guys give me advice as to how to shoot/make it look dark and gloomy kinda like The Dark Knight.
I was thinking of producing the dark effect using limited lightning. Is there a way/technique to do this?

Always still light your scenes well. If you film in bad lighting it will probably just be underexposed and black.
If it were me, and I'm a total amateur, I would try and shoot it as well lit as possible, and add effects in post. Although if there is a real technique for getting this on real film, I bet there is someone on here that knows how.
Good luck with your short! Oh, and a lot of film festivals have categories for shorts, some even as short as 4 minutes. So try and make your 'promo' something you'd be proud to send to the festival. Maybe you'll get your goal of doing that accomplished a lot more quickly.
I find that there is nothing better for the creative juices than some instant gratification.

Hmmm...... I was unaware of the fact that there were film festivals for films as short as 3-4 minutes. I will look into that. And you are probably right, I will try to shoot the video well lit. Thanks for the advice
But how do you shoot videos in the dark when there is a question of being underexposed?

i'm not sure how to shoot in the dark effectively (to compensate widen the iris and lower the fps - high gain in dark stuations looks shit)

To get a dark feel i personally would use a single strong light ballanced with either: a simple white board or nothing (make the light hard edged to cast maximum shadow on features of the face)