• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Lighting for Noir (B&W):

Hey guys.

I'm going to be working on a project that plans to go B&W noir. I'm not only going to be acting in this production, but I'll also be heavily involved in the production side--this will include working on the lighting at times.

Now, I'm not a lighting designer, but I've been doing film long enough, and have done lights on a few features in my time, so I'm comfortable with the way lighting works in terms of three-point systems, background fill, gels, lighting concepts, etc...however, I've never done a B&W noir peice, and I was wondering if you guys had any links or references I might be able to check out online.

I understand noir consists of high contrast, lots of shadows, point of interest lighting, etc...but I'd love to check out any stylistic breakdowns of the lighting system...know what I mean?

I will be doing lots of Google searching myself, so don't think I'm being lazy here...lol.

Any help?

(I love the lighting of Mercury Men and would like to do something similar: http://www.mercuryseries.com/)

Thanks.

[EDIT: I've found this article, which really helps. http://www.videomaker.com/article/13548/ -- but please share some more links, schematics, or advice. Thank you.]

Last edited:
I would suggest lots of gobos and flags. Use items like tree branches, window blinds, solid shapes, like crosses - using flags (Pieces of wood or cardboard that block part of the light. You also might want to use an eyelight, so that if the scene is dark, you can see the actor's eyes.

If you haven't read John Alton's book, that might also prove useful for techniques in low key lighting.

Thanks for posting Mercury Men btw. I wasn't aware of it, now I have to find a way to watch it. :lol:

Last edited: