Buying Equipment...credit card or loan?

I'm still a college student with another year left, but I'm dying to get my own equipment. I'm looking to spend $2,000 on a quick start up (DVX100 + accessories) and then build as I go along. I'm debating whether or not to try to up the limit on one of my credit cards or take out a loan. I know that CC is the worse way to fund stuff, but I figure the monthly cost would be much low enough to handle considering I'm on a pretty tight income right now. I'm pretty sure I could make at least a couple hundred bucks a month doing odd jobs with the EQ for people in order to start slowly paying it off.

I already got about !$15,000 in college loans and just took a $6,000 for a car loan. Anyone have any suggestions? Or what they did to try to get equipment?

Don't buy, rent.

If you are dead set on buying don't ignore audio gear. Spend 1/4 to 1/2. You'll need a mic (a quality microphone will be one of the few things that you will purchase that will hold its value), boom pole, shock mount, headphones and other accessories. You'll need some decent speakers for editing the audio.

99% of indie filmmakers ignore sound until it is much too late. Every dollar you spend on production sound will save you ten in audio post.

Sound is half of the experience.

Unfortunately I don't agree with Alcove Audio or agcamerasound. I am a firm believer in buying your own equipment. However I do think you need to do some research and decide what field you want to get into when it comes to film production. Do you want to be a gaffer? Then research lighting and get some lights. Do you want to be a cinematographer? Then research cameras and purchase one of those. Do you want to work in audio? Then research mics and other equipment and purchase it. Do you want to direct? Then save your money and hire people for the other stuff while you work with the actors and actresses.