No idea what camera to use. Any suggestions would help...

So i'm currently still writing the script on my movie and i'm drawing the story boards. I know what I want to shoot and the only thing I can think of that I would need on the camera I need is a hard drive (so I can go in and edit right away on the computer without having to use video) and the most important part I would like on the camera is a manual focus option. Ideally it would be a manual focus wheel on the end of the lens.

I'm going to be doing a lot of indoor shooting with dark environments and minimal lighting. I'm very new to the process and have virtually no idea what kind of camera I would need.

Some suggestions would be greatly help. Thanks.

P.S. Regardless of what I wrote here on what I think I need like the manual focus ring and a hard drive, any other suggestions would be welcomed. Thank you again.

P.S.S. I'm also wondering whether I should record speech directly when recording video (although there will likely be a lot of interference), or to just record the speech into the movie after shooting (which will require a lot of trial and error to get the speech to match lip movements, volumes, and editing). What would be ideal is if the camera had a wireless mic attachment that would transfer the speech from the actors directly to the camera and record it directly. Anything like that that anyone knows of?

Last edited:
Get (or borrow) any prosumer-grade HD cam. This can be costly, but I don't know what to tell you. You can get an even more expensive HD cam that has a nice lens on it already. But, come to think of it, most good HD cams already have the ability to manually focus...just beg, buy, borrow, or steal an HD cam...most stock HD cams won't give you the DOF (depth of field) you may want...if this is something you want, I suggest a lens package (which can be expensive).