Documentary Film making! Please guide

Hi I have few questions and i want friends to guide me please. I have read about feature film making. Though i dont say i am an expert now of feature film making but at least i know how script is written keeping in mind 3 or 4 act structure etc. More over the grammar of shots etc But i am totally new to the genre of DOCUMENTARY FILM.
Like i heard that first hypothetical statement is created. There are around 10 to 15 questions for it etc. I want to know that more over what is the treatment. Obviously creating interest is a must but what is the right way to do that? How the DOC gets started?
Can you people please guide me in detail about it?

I know it might take few lectures to teach me but the friendly people here will surely help me.

IDA has a forum on their website? :)

Just took a look, judging from the time stamp it looks like their forums don't get too heavy of traffic. No matter, I suggested their site more for resources/info than discussion.

The IDA group on Linkedin does seem to have a more lively discussion, so in terms of Q&A that may be another place to look.

These are always an interesting read, though I am not certain there is a good search feature to get targeted information. I imagine somewhere in there are descriptions of development, research, hypothesis testing, etc. At least I hope so - I'm searching for this stuff too.

http://www.documentary.org/magazine/archive

I'll try to update more info as I find it.

David.rhsc as you said :
I imagine somewhere in there are descriptions of development, research, hypothesis testing, etc. At least I hope so - I'm searching for this stuff too.

Well i am searching too. If you get any useful links from anywhere (even from any other site) kindly paste the link here too. I will be also searching. :)

Well, here are a couple of links, with some light commentary. I haven't fully read through these, just bookmarked them for later research.