• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Multiple camera shots and some advice.......

Hi Guys

I am a student who watched a lot of movies but still a novice in the field of filmmaking. I help an indie producer shoot high school games and a few small projects. I found this forum very interesting and helpful (received some useful tips before)

In the movies and videos there are multiple shots of the same person/thing/scene from different angles. How do you actually produce this effect. In movies you can have multiple cameras to do this. But not everyone can own multiple cameras. How do they actually shoot the same scene from different angles? It is crucial in filmmmaking to have multiple camera shots to keep the viewer interested.

Also I plan to make videos for contests(mostly commercials) to build my resume and maybe to also develop contacts. Can you guys give me some good piece of advice if this is a good thing to start at?

Thanks in advance...................

Hey man!
I'm still a film making baby myself.
A lot of movies don't have more than one camera, what they do is they have the actors act out the same scene or part of the script multiple times and place the camera in different places. Of course higher budget films can afford two camera's at once, but it limits how far you can pan or move each camera because you might get a shot of the other camera.
For most of us shooting on low budgets, its only filmed with one.

The biggest thing you have to watch out for is continuity which is making sure that everything in the scene is always the same. For instance you might be shooting two different shots of an actor with a glass of coke. You shoot your first one and the glass is full. Then between the time it takes you to set up your next angle perhaps he drank some, and so when you shoot it again his glass is going to be half full.