do I need to use a 'nice' camera for an interview-driven documentary?

Hello all,

I've decided to shoot a documentary. Basically, I intend to interview various persons of interest from around town and edit the interviews together into a thematically unified film. I am particularly interested in life-changing choices, especially those which are contrary to social norms/pressures.

I have no serious experience with video or film but I do have a Canon ZR500 mini-DV camcorder as well as an older Canon super-8 camcorder. I'm thinking that I'll use the first of these machines because its smaller and easier to deal with. The ZR does have a distinctive motor sound, but I expect that using a microphone would substantially alleviate its sonic interference.

I also have the option of spending several hundred dollars and renting a much fancier camera (Sony PMW-X1 HD for example) from the local video co-op. I don't really want to do this... do you think that my image-quality will be seriously compromised if I choose to stick with my inexpensive handy-cams? Also, are there any good reasons to consider using the super-8 opposed to the mini-DV?

Thanks a million,

- Mothro

Since you have a Canon ZR500 have you considered shooting
some footage with it, looking at it and then deciding if image-wise,
it's good enough?

Shooting super 8 is a nice option. More expensive, but super 8
can look great. You could do a test. Set both cameras side by side,
shoot a scene, look at both and decide if image-wise it's good enough.

Since you don't want to rent the Sony PMW-X1, it seems to me
that doing a test first would be of great value to you.

If you are considering shooting all these interviews on super8 you may as well just rent a good camera. All the film and developing costs will be just as high, if not more than renting.