HD Camera Decisions...

Well I am a film student and for a present I am going to be getting a new camera :D Basically I would really like to go HD, I love the look and it seems to be the way the industry is going. I am really looking into the Panasonic AG-HVX200A / AG-HVX205A

Bassically i would like to keep it under 5k for the sake of my aunts wallet but I really would like to have a basic setup with everything i might need. Bag/case, filters, sturdy tripod(especially if I'm going to be putting a couple thousand dollar camera on it) P2 card of a decent size(at least 16gb but maybe 32gb) and anything i might need to get my footage of my p2 card onto my macbook pro...

Now i know i mentioned the HVX200A but I would like to see some other stuff comperable to this and in that price range... basically I need a skew of 5 or so cameras at a price range from 1k-5k with pros and cons to each to show to my aunt.

I agree with you about HD. I struggled with a camera, and I ended up buying a JVC GY-HD200, a very good camera.

Sony has some great camera's too. For film, I'd go with the JVC or Panasonic. Documentary/action, the Sony's and the Canon's are better, as the JVC is pretty big and heavy.

But the bottom line is...you'll go crazy trying to find the best one, as they all have positives and negatives. And after you buy, you'll have regrets no matter what you buy. So just pick one, and start making movies!

Chris

P.S. for camera details, I suggest B and H photo, Amazon, or just making a search on this site. There are tons of threads about cameras.

Last edited:
You're lucky man. I just graduated and I got a Sony Handycam SR47...I wish my parents had enough money for a Panasonic DVX100 or something like that...but for my first camera, this will do.

The only thing I have is a Canon Elura, MiniDV. It's like 11 years old :( But it was like a 2500 dollar camera new. I haven't used it a whole lot yet.