Cramer on the DVD market, NetFlix

Anyone catch Cramer on Mad Money (3 days ago) talking about the current DVD market? Basically he said that in this recession consumers do not want to pay $15 for a new DVD unless it's something classic (such as a Disney movie that the kids will watch over and over). He said that NetFlix' stock has been going up because people want to rent.

As a filmmaker I think that filmmakers need to lower their prices. I believe that anything over $10 is too pricey. If it's an older title then not more than $8.

I think NetFlix is a rip off. They pay a 1 time wholesale price for your DVD and then rent it as many times as they can. They pay NO royalties. Sure they may order multiple copies of your DVD, but when divided by how many people rent your DVD, consumers may ultimately be only paying a buck or less to watch your movie. If only 1 out of 8 WOULD BE RENTERS buy your DVD then you break even. I don't know how many people rent the average NetFlix DVD during the "lifetime" of a NetFlix DVD. Does anybody know? I'm guessing at least 10. That's 80 cents per DVD (assuming an $8 wholesale price). Weak. I'm guessing that MORE than 10% of would-be renters will buy a DVD if they can't find it on NetFlix.

There's also a group of consumers out there that will wait for a movie to be available as a rental. If it NEVER becomes available for rent then some of these people are gonna eventually buy it.

Some people argue that it's "promotion". These are the same people that argue that PirateBay piracy is "promotion". If "giving your stuff away" is promotion then Amazon.com would give way more than just 30 second clips of songs.

I have mixed feelings about Netflix. I think they're good guys because they carry everything. Frankly, it gives filmmakers an opportunity to be seen that they otherwise wouldn't have. Some of the movies I've rented look as if they used a VHS camcorder to film them.