Is a production company necessary?

I'm a filmmaker myself, just alone currently. I work with all my own equipment, and will be shooting my first feature this summer.

Do I actually need a production company for anything, if I plan on doing all the work myself, and distributing the film myself?

What actual benefits would forming a business entity like a production company afford me?

I know *ZERO* about business, so I'm really not all that interested in forming a production company at this point... so just need a little advice.

Thanks, guys.

No it is not. If it is a large production and you wish to protect your personal assets you should form a production company (Inc. or LLC) for each film. This makes it easy to sell, and it protects all of your other assets, including films, from lawsuits.

No it is not. If it is a large production and you wish to protect your personal assets you should form a production company (Inc. or LLC) for each film. This makes it easy to sell, and it protects all of your other assets, including films, from lawsuits.

What do you mean it 'protects' my personal assets, including films?

Sorry if it's a dumb question, I literally know nothing about business.

It's called "limited liability". It's the main reason people incorporate any business, not just film. If someone sues you and a judgement is issued against you that you can't pay or insurance doesn't cover, they can take your house, your car, your films, etc. If your film is incorporated, they can only touch the assets under that corporation.

Sorry again.. what do you mean by an incorporated film? A film that was produced by an LLC production company?

Also, what assets are under a corporation? Mainly just income gotten from anything sold, etc?

Like I said, it is wise to have an incorporation for each film. For small productions I wouldn't worry too much about it, just get the usual production and equipment insurance.

Oh gosh, literally a new LLC for each film?