• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

the difficulties of lighting in a house

After experimenting with my new light kit inside of my living room I've realized that shooting in a studio must be a much more reliable location. Especially in my small living room, it's very difficult to backlight actors, almost impossible actually, as well as establish a key light without overexposing. I guess the answer for now is more diffusion? Any suggestions? I am new to lighting, but I am learning...

I have a softbox, however I don't have a bulb for it yet. I'm guessing that it would be very helpful in this scenario?

Every single moviemaker has had to light in practical locations. Very few
get to use a studio. And we all figure out how to light it - you will, too.

lightingexample.jpg

This was shot in a small bedroom using 4 lights and
two pieces of foamcore. A light outside with a homemade "cookie" to cast
shadows and break up the light - a light in the living room behind the woman
standing - a small light behind the woman in the foreground - a paper lantern
just above the woman sitting and a piece of foamcore just under her to fill
a little of the shadow on her left (camera right).

It's difficult and leaves very little space for crew to move around. But it
looks pretty good, don't you think?

my biggest constraint with small rooms is not the lighting but simply their is not enough room for the lens I want to use.

The problem with small rooms is you always end up having to shoot wider then you would like, and often times lower then you would like. see like Directorik, wouldn't it be a lot nicer to have your shot with a longer focal length, that way it compresses the background so the second actor would take up more of the frame, that's normally how you can tell if it's in a studio or not, lots of people shoot really wide indoors simply because you can't get far enough back. such a pain.