film for super 8

Today I received the film that I ordered off of amazon to test out my camera that hasn't been delivered yet.
I made a total newb mistake by just ordering whatever off of amazon. Since then I have learned a lot from this forum board and other sources.

I have one cartridge of Tri-X 7266 with EI 200 for daylight and 160 for Tungsten.

For test purposes. When and where should I test out my camera. It being such high speed I guess that it wont work well outside. Should I just test it out indoors with some normal lighting set up. Could I shoot outside with it?

Also, what kind of film would you recommend that looks the best for daylight/night after telecine to digital.

I hope all of this makes since. I'm new and learning :-(

Ill be shooting on a canon 514XL if that helps.

Yes. You can shoot Tri-X outside. Use the built in light meter to set the iris.
You can also shoot indoors with some normal lighting. Use the built in light
meter to set the iris.

There isn't one stock that works best in both daylight and night.

Ektachrome 64 is a really nice color stock that will give you a wide range of
exposures - excellent for outdoor, daylight.

500T is a high-speed, tungsten-balanced color negative film that is very fast.
You can get an excellent image in low light situations, but you still want to do
more than just point and shoot. Always use a light meter and some lights.

The 200T stock is a slower speed color stock. This might be the closest you get
to an "all purpose" indoor/outdoor/daylight/night film stock.

You need to pay attention to how the stock is balanced and if you need to use
the built in filter or not.

Shooting film isn't as easy as shooting video. White balance is done electronically
in video cameras but it's done with filters on film cameras. Of course color balance
isn't going to matter as much using black and white stock.

You're going to burn through a lot of film (and money) learning how it works. I
know I did.