Some help with HD Cameras.

Howdy everyone. I'm new here so excuse me if this question has already been asked. :lol:

Budget : 5,000 Euro / $7,300 (U.S)

I have been making short films for quite some time now, but I'm only using a standard house camera worth no more than 400-500 euro. I want to purchese a HD compatable camera for making my shorts and features. But I seem to get extremly stuck on choosing which one to buy. I've looked into many of them, but I'm no professional, so I thought I would ask you guys here, who for all intended purposes are pros.

The camera I need is for, like I said, Filming shorts / features and maybe some functions on the side, but mostly film. The camera must have HD compabbility / film in PAL format and good frame rate. Also, I know its not that important, but the camera must not be a small little thing. I perfer bigger cameras.

The cameras I've looked at so far are;

- Canon :
Xl-H1
XH-G1
XH-A1

- Sony
HDR-FX1
EX1

-JVC :
GY-HD111E (Or 101 for NTSC users)
GY-HD251E

And some others. I'm trying to avoid the Panasonic range because of the P2 cards which are crazy in price for the size.

Also I would like to know which type of camera of better, A shoulder mouted camera (Such as the JVC) or a freehand camera (such as the XH-G1) [Just examples]

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this! Any replys are appreciated.

P.S. If you know any other good cameras I should be looking into please let me know. Thanks again.

Hi there,