• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

How do Producers package their film?

Hello,
I've looked through most of the forums, I'm sure this questions has been answered. I am an experienced SFX artist but have only done home videos, weddings, etc. I would like to get into the Indie genre, but I don't know much about this category of film. I know how to convert most consumer formats to DVD, but my questions is how or what format does an Indie flim maker put his film onto when sending off to a post production facility? In other words, what equipment do I need in order to recieve the various formats of film? Do projects get sent in on DVD in .avi format? I have no clue. I'm trying to build a list of equipment that I need in order to accomodate all formats, I doubt there is a rack system that can handle the different formats. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hard to know where to start with this...

The real answer is it depends on what the acquisition format was ...and the post production workflow.

So, a few years back the standard workflow was (acquisition format)... copy tapes to digibeta... offline edit... reformat to original acquisition format to online... then master to both HD and Digibeta.

These days it's easier... because most projects are tapeless (so it's all data transfer)... but you could be working in anything from SD Apple 10bit lossless all the way up to Pro-Res 4.4.4... you might even find yourself mastering to a TIFF sequence!

So, I guess the real answer to your question is... that depends on what kind of work you're interested in.