• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

lighting?

Ok, I have just been blessed with someone who is willing to invest $2000.00 for whatever else I need for my first time film. ( I have already spent money on a brand new XH A1, tripod, boom pole, shot gun mic, wide angle lens and the accessories) I was thinking of spending about $1200 on lights. Can you help me decide on the best investment? It isn't an action film..it's a relationship movie, lots of dialogue scenes. 22 locations; inside a bachelor apartment, inside a book store, thrift shop, pub, restaurant, diner, and bar. Also quite a few sidewalk scenes and train station.
Should i go with florescents? Soft boxes? tungstens? I'm new to this so I apologize if i ask stupid questions.
Any other equipment i should be investing in let me know. By the way, none of us are getting paid, so i can't afford to spend money the money on a gaffer or sound technician.

You ask a very good question. There are so many options in the lighting department and there are a myriad of considerations, from heat, power consumption, color balance, bulk, cost, etc., etc.

I would suggest you do a lot of research. There are many budget lighting solutions that will leave you some money for other important things. I use mostly 3200K tungsten lighting, which is fairly inexpensive, but also has some limitations. I'd say you should buy one fresnel light, and a bunch of cheaper lights with at least a couple of good C-stands. You may need a light or gel to achieve daylight balance, but you might also be able to use a reflector for the same purpose when shooting outdoors.

Do NOT take my word for this. Do some more research, get some more opinions, be realistic, and leave some money in your pocket to deal with any special situation that comes up. Remember, you can rent any expensive item you may need for one or two days of shooting, much cheaper than you can purchase it.