Financing Scam?

"I had been shopping around a script for a while when a producer took interest. After reading the latest draft, I was invited to a meeting at his Pittsburgh office. He told me that he loved the project for me, a first time director, because it was a genuinely emotional yet commercial story that could be filmed fairly cheaply.

He told me, that while he loved the project he wasn't going to go out on a limb if I wasn't and that the proposal package to investors would cost roughly $3500, but his company would take care of some of the cost, leaving my company to pay $2500 before they begin the package. The money would then be later recouped in the line budget under Developement, where I would get my money back.

I'm not sure if it ought to work this way, and as this is my first attempt at working with a producer to find funding, im a bit apprehensive."

Thank you.

Best,
Shawn McLeod

I'm 90% certain this is a scam... but, just a few questions will sort this out.

You talked about his company and your company... did you go to him for a co-production deal? or were you just looking for a producer to take on your spec script?

If you're doing a co-production, where two companies work together to get a film made and distributed, then sharing the costs isn't unreasonable. However, before you got to the "sharing costs" part, you'd have to have entered into a co-production contract. This seems an unlikely option, because you don't sound like you've got the background to be brokering that kind of deal. (no offense meant)

If you're just a screenwriter, then it's a scam. If you're a writer and see this as your first directorial project... then it's a scam, because no production company in their right mind is going to attempt to raise money on a project by an unknown writer, with him attached as the director.