Marketing you movie

I am postioning myself to market in my old home state back in Maine in the summer. We have been in contact with some of the local radio/tv stations and are getting quotes. I want to know if anyone here has ever paid for TV advertising or radio advertising and the response that you received from doing it.

JWB
www.jbmovies.com

Most independent films just are not advertised. My background is more with CD distribution. With CD's $1.00 spent on advertising will not bring you back $1.00 in profits. I'd bet that for every dollar you spend on any advertising (whether print, TV, radio or whatever) will not even pay back 10 cents. Did you know that 4 out of 5 infomercials are not profitable. You have to sell "mass appeal" things like weight loss products, girls gone wild, and fast food if you want to show a profit off of advertising. Conclusion: Don't throw away your money!

I haven't done it here in Los Angeles. Way too many indie
films being shown all the time.

However, I know three examples of friends of mine who don't
live in a major, moviemaking area who have had great results.
A friend in Tucson got a lot of press coverage and did radio and
TV ads and filled the 350 seat theater for 8 shows. They had
to add 3 screenings due to the demand for tickets. He told me
he spent about $1,500 on advertising and sold 2,800 seats.

I used to be a major player in Radio advertising, so I've seen the process from the other side of the fence.