Want to eventually become a writer/directory

To give a little background on myself: I'm 23 years old, I've written 7 screenplays, sold one to an indie filmmaker (long story, big mistake -- I was young and naive). I absolutely love writing, but ever since I was 6 years old, watching the first Tim Burton Batman movie, I've known I wanted to be a director.

I've finally came to the point in my life where I've decided to stop dreaming and make it happen. I'm going to do whatever it takes, if it means I have to start at rock bottom and work my way up, I'm more than willing to do it.

I haven't put any of my other work "on the market" so-to-speak, since I want to at least hold onto it long enough to see if there's a chance I can direct them one day.

I have zero directing or film experience, but quite a good bit of acting and stage experience. I consider myself a good actor, but I hate appearing on camera, I'd rather be the one behind it.

I'm torn between the idea of going to film school, some people say it's worth it, some say it's better to avoid it. If it's possible to get into film without a paying for a ~$50 - 150 thousand dollar education, I'd much rather prefer that route.

I live all the way across the country from Hollywood -- I'm actually considering selling everything I own and making my move out to Hollywood.

Currently, as a profession, I work as a freelance programmer. So, I have plenty to fall back on if it takes awhile for things to get started in LA, or I'm out of work for awhile.

I've looked into becoming a production assistant, but a lot of people say that's not the route to go if you're looking to work your way up as a writer or director.

So, what is the right route? I know it's going to be a long process, but I want to one day write and direct my feature film own movies on a major distribution (don't we all).

Any help anyone can give me is more than appreciated. Thanks!