• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Indoor Concert

Hi Folks,

I was fortunate enough to have met a Director for a large non-profit organization in my area. They are putting on a concert and she asked me to film it! Now, I'm really new to the Cinematography world, but this could be a great opportunity to actually start creating a demo reel. I'd like to make some money doing side gigs while in school, but everyone asks to see your work (which is understandable). But it's hard to get yourself in the door when you dont have sample footage that relates to their request. Anyways, she was nice enough to give me a chance.

SO, to my question. Any tips on how I should approach this? Are there any things to be conscious of when filming a concert? I'm sure it's going to be dark with a heavily lit stage, but that's just an assumption. Just curious to see what kind of tips you guys would offer when filming this kind of event.

Thanks!

Cool, I was thinking along the same vein. With the additional camera, would I just try and get audience coverage? Or also some of the concert as well? The reason I ask is that the additional camera will probably not be the same quality.

Also, I was thinking about getting the audio directly from the mixer. To do that, what exactly do you need?

Thanks.

I'd want 2 cameras focused on the stage, so I could edit back and forth. I'd probably instruct one operator to do lots of close ups, while the other one would stay wider, but there are lots of ways you could allocate them. I wouldn't try to do the audience simply because the lights are on the stage. A lot of this depends on what sort of concert it is, etc.