I Want A Refund - A Letter To Sony Films

Head Of Distribution
Sony Pictures Europe
25, Golden Square
London
W1F 9LU

Re: Ultraviolet’

Dear Sir/Madam,

I yesterday attended a screening of ‘Ultraviolet’ at my local UGC cinema. To put this in context, I have been attending the cinema for the past 20 years (I’m now 29). I have probably seen 30 + films a year in the cinema so for the past 20 years that equates to over 600 films on the big screen.

I have never walked out of the cinema no matter how bad the film, out of respect for the people involved. This meant I have endured ‘Alexander’, cringed through ‘Batman & Robin’ and even managed to not fall asleep through ‘Island Of Dr Moreau’, ‘House Of The Dead’ and ‘Evita’.

But out of all the films I have ever watched in my life, ‘Ultraviolet’ tested my will the most. Honestly I feel you should be sued for false promotion with this film. Now having read the reviews I knew it would be a pretty bad film (not one positive review across the internet or worlds press that I have found so far), but nothing quite prepared me for the steaming pile of excrement that faced me that day.

As a UK based film maker it shocks and appals me that whilst many good films languish out there without distribution, this travesty gets released on the big screen. Nationwide.

Trust me when I say the fact I didn’t walk out was simply due to the wish to see how bad the film would get. I guess on that fact I wasn’t disappointed.

So with this in mind I have enclosed a copy of my cinema receipt and would request that you find it in your heart to refund me the admission price (£5). Personally I would be embarrassed to have my name attached to a film of this ‘quality’. I certainly am that I took the time to watch it. This is everything that cinema shouldn’t be, even at a base level this film fails at every turn. And for all the poor films I have ever seen I have never, until now, felt compelled to write for a refund.