Need a collection agency

Does anybody know how, as a freelancer, I can send a client to a collection agency? Does anyone know of a collection agency I can use? Client is 90 days overdue on payment and I'm tired of the excuses. Has anyone ever done this before?

Any help is much appreciated.

I once had a client who didn't want to pay me. He gave me every excuse under the sun (they always do). Finally, I told him that I was going to take him to small claims court. He called me screaming and cursing at me. I remained calm and basically said that all he had to do was pay me. He cursed some more but seeing that I wasn't going to back down, he paid me that day.

I am a creditor to a lot of people out there so when they start being evasive and not paying i take this procedure.

1. Send letter giving a friendly reminder.

2. Send a firmer letter and mention the possibility of further costs incurred.

3. Send final demand letter charging them £20 for their default.

4. Send court summons from the small claims court.

5. Enforce court judgement by signing the warrant of execution.

Remember it does not pay to be soft.

I guess I'm at step 3 right now. The only fear I have of taking this particular client to small claims court is the fact that the client happens to be a law firm. I'm afraid they would be able to defend themselves in so many ways it would make my head spin. A collection agency seems to be more impartial in this case than a court of law.

Thanks for the help. I am definitely going to take the approach of being firm and not backing down.

dylan61 said:
I guess I'm at step 3 right now. The only fear I have of taking this particular client to small claims court is the fact that the client happens to be a law firm. I'm afraid they would be able to defend themselves in so many ways it would make my head spin. A collection agency seems to be more impartial in this case than a court of law.